Faith AME Zion History

Faith History
Faith A.M.E. Zion Church was founded after the departure of Shaw
Temple A.M.E. Zion Church (now located in Smyrna, GA) from Atlanta. Concerned with having a Zion presence in Atlanta, former members of Shaw Temple organized as a “Zion Society” in October of 1999. The Society was accepted into the connection in November, 1999. Dr. Ndugu G. B. T’Ofori-Atta was called out of retirement to assume pastoral leadership.

Since 1999, Faith has worshipped in four locations:

  • November 1999 – Mt. Olive Baptist Church, 2174 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive
  • December 1999 to June 2000 – Theological Center Chapel, 700 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive
  • July 2000 to June 2002 – Church of the Master Presbyterian Church (PCUSA), 3400 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive
  • June 2002 to May 2004 – The Atlanta Adventist Academy, 3870 Cascade Rd.

Faith’s current location is the former site of Shaw Temple A.M.E. Zion Church (1959-1999).

Following Dr. T’Ofori-Atta, Rev. Lester McCorn served from 2005 to 2008 forming new organizations and establishing the Lifestyle Stewardship Campaign.  In late 2008, Rev. Jawwad Love, was appointed by Bishop Kenneth Monroe, Presiding Bishop, South Atlantic Episcopal District – AME Zion Church, at the 137th Session of the Georgia Annual Conference.

Faith AME Zion Church is currently pastored by Rev. Reginald Morton.  Faith AME Zion Church is a member of the African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church.

 Denomination History (African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church)
The denomination was founded in New York City in 1796. The first meetings were held in a rented house on Cross Street between Mulberry and Orange Streets.

In 1800, our first church, called Zion, was built. We were originally called the A.M.E. Church of New York. To avoid confusion with a similar group founded in Philadelphia, a few years before, the name of our ‘Mother Church’ was added to our denominational name.

The founders of the AME Zion Church include James Varick (our first ’superintendent’, a title that was later changed to ‘bishop’); William Brown, William Hamilton, Frances Jacobs, William Miller, June Scott, Abraham Thompson and Peter Williams, Sr. These men and women were free blacks.

Visit to learn more about our denomination.